My New Canine Friend

Hi, my name is Emily and I’m a cat person. They say the first step is admitting the problem, so I’m here today to tell you all about my pet-conversion.

You see, I firmly disagree with the human doctrine that there are two types of people: Cat people and dog people. And when I started dating my boyfriend and realized his complete devotion to his pooch, Nika, I decided it was time to access my inner puppy love.

It isn’t that I don’t LIKE dogs. They are man’s best friend, after all. I just grew up with cats. I spent my childhood falling for fluffy, meowing kittens. I mean, how can you not love this little guy?

But, I digress. So far in my quest to access my inner puppy love, I’ve learned two things:

1) To a dog, “kisses” are a sign of love and friendship…and an act of licking your face in its entirety with his or her massive tongue

2) Dogs really do have a refreshing, “I just met you, but I love you!” attitude toward life (thank you, UP)

It has been a couple of months and (I think) Nika and I are friends. The other day when I was over at my boyfriend’s house for a visit she ran to the door and then showed me her favorite toy. …although, I still manage to avoid her “kisses.”

 

[She is pretty darn cute. Especially when she knows it is time for a car ride 🙂 ]

2 thoughts on “My New Canine Friend

Leave a Reply

