Isn’t it Ironic?

This post is dedicated to the dictionary–the Oxford Dictionary Online to be exact. And the word ‘irony’.

It always surprises me how often common words are misused. Be it song lyrics, email correspondence or everyday chit-chat, Americans (myself included) mispronounce and misuse our words,  rules of grammar, our definitions. Something like, “She told you and I about the earthquake.”–when it should be, “She told you and me about the earthquake.”

And how often do we find ourselves saying, “Isn’t that ironic,” when really, it is just odd, or coincidental. I believe we misuse irony so often that most people don’t really know the true definition. So I point to an often neglected, unappreciated book. One that I go to daily (if you count online versions). (I know that even as an English major, I’ve been misled). So here is the definition in all its glory.

Irony: noun: “the expression of one’s meaning by using language that normally signifies the opposite, typically for humorous or emphatic effect” (or) “a state of affairs or an event that seems deliberately contrary to what one expects and is often wryly amusing as a result” –oxforddictionaries.com

Examples of irony: He was so helpful, pushing the woman aside as she struggled to carry her groceries.

                                       The irony is that I didn’t think I had studied enough for that test.

Go forth my friends! Use the dictionary and its vast fountain of knowledge. Use splendid words and love the debotury of it all! (But be wary of using its friend, Urban Dictionary dot com)

Leave a Reply

