My life (in less than four weeks)

Summer, you have been a really great friend. You’ve allowed me to have picnics, go to parties, wander the city and read while sprawled outside with the sun shining. But honestly, I’m disappointed in you. You haven’t given me enough time to make a trip up to Duluth, I’ve hardly seen my family and well, I could use a few more free days with my friends. Four weeks? That’s all you are willing to give me now? It isn’t enough time!

Why, you ask am I already missing my blissful summer (ok-minus the 8 1/2 hour work days)? Because the reality of taking 4 courses (be it–they should be amazing courses) and working two jobs is starting to sink in. I’ve forgotten what it is like to stay up until 2am in hopes of finishing the next day’s assignment. And because I just saw my reading list for fall. Here’s what I’m looking at:

Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway

Farewell to Arms – Hemingway

In Our Time – Hemingway

Old Man and the Sea – Hemingway (shudders)

Sun Also Rises – Hemingway

Nonviolent Communication – Rosenberg

Understanding World Religions – Smith

Not bad, right? Wrong. This list only covers 2 of my classes. And the books are only the beginning of what I’ll have from my Resrch: Hemingway Bibliography (it is a research course, as in lots and lots of reading). But, if I forget how I’m losing my nights out, tv marathons with my friends and well, sleep, I remember how excited I am. Because I’m in four great classes with amazing professors. So let’s be honest, I have 4 more weekends to live it up and if you take away Old Man and the Sea, I’m stoked.

Leave a Reply

