It’s official

I would die without music.

No matter what happens in my life music can always make me feel better. There is something about the lyrics, the beat or the instrumentals that just makes my mind clear up and focus on something outside of myself. Music has changed a lot for me in the short 21 years I’ve been alive. I play the piano (well) and the violin (poorly). I grew up on country music. My dad can really sing, and classic country lyrics or whistled tunes could always be heard around the house. His favorite song is Crazy. I can sing any Loretta Lynn, Johnny Cash or Patsy Cline song you can think of. When I was little I got my first stereo system in my room and I found classical music stations and turned up the volume as loud as it would go, listening to orchestras and pianists. I turned to mainstream ‘pop’ in Junior High because that was the cool thing to do. By college I was thrown into everything from Lady Gaga to Death Cab to Taylor Swift. And while I can honestly say I’ll always have a soft spot for all the genres in my life (but man, did I ever actually enjoy the country ‘twang’), I’m more of a rock/alternative/folk kind of girl. I really like lyrics–I’m kind of an angsty/emo teen that way. I like it to have a soul. Wow, that sounds cheesy. But seriously.

Tonight’s playlist:

Awake My Soul – Mumford & Sons

I Don’t Know Why I Love You – The House of Love

Let Go – Frou Frou

You and I – Ingrid Michaelson

Wake Up – The Arcade Fire

oh…and probably much more.

Leave a Reply

