I love the Library.

If you have been reading my blog you are probably wondering how on earth I’m going to hit my 50 mark for my reading list this summer. Valid question. I may be lowering my expectation by 20 or so (I’ve had a very busy summer!) But, I’ve gotten a look at my fall reading list for a few classes (trust me, this English major generally has to read about 3-4 books a week during the school year) and I know by December I’ll have read upwards of 60 books, so don’t worry, if you look long-term I’m not actually slacking.

BUT I have been reading. So here is a quick peak at my thoughts on one of my last reads:

Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

I was a bit hesitant to get into another teen-novel series. I’m easily addicted to stories and I tend to buy the books I read, and well I’m slightly broke. So I went on the waiting list at the UST Library for Huger Games which came highly recommended by several friends and classmates over the last semester.

Short synopsis: Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living in what is left of the United States sometime in the future. Struggling with her mother and younger sister the story follows Katniss’s placement into the yearly televised event set up by a controlling government where children from every district are chosen to fight to the death.

I fell absolutely in love with this book. Collins does an amazing job creating relatable characters that have personalities beyond the surface level, something many books that attempt to relate to teens/young adults lack. The story allows for romantic confusion in a future society without being completely cliché or leaving the reader feeling like it is unrealistic. My favorite part about this story is that it allows its characters to embody strong emotions without making them seem forced. And I think that is why this series has been a hit. Collins isn’t entirely formulaic in her story structure and she brings in real world problems and ideas to play and details the emotions creatively and distinctively.

I’ve already requested the next two, Catching Fire and Mockingjay from the library!

Leave a Reply

